Infinity #1

Infinity #1

The Builders.

The Builders and Thanos.

But why is it called “Infinity”? That’s the question. That’s the question that really is 

driving me crazy.

As I was pondering the setup of the current Marvel U in tandem with what Hickman is doing in his other core titles, it dawned on me that I may not like what is going on here.  It occurred to me that we have multiple universes colliding together and encroaching on the allotted space of our favorite universe, the 616.  This really isn’t a problem until you put that together with the title of the next big “crescendo” of Hickman’s run:  Infinity.

I remember looking at the trade of DC’s forever immortalized multiverse-spanning work titled “Crisis on Infinite Earths.”  It frightens me to think of the cover now in my pale recollections.  As I recall, we see a ring of earths in and out of phase with one another and multiple versions of the DC heroes together.  The earths seem to be bumping into each other and overlapping.  Whether this is literal or metaphorical I don’t know, because I haven’t read that far back into DC’s history.  But the image still made an obvious impact.

Now, taking that vivid memory of that iconic cover and pairing it with the terminology we are seeing in the current Marvel U, it’s not entirely a grand leap to think that there may be something of a correlation here.

Are we heading for a swift culling of the outlying Marvel herd of heroes?  Would we notice the momentum of the headwaters of such a cataclysmic event?  Will space be smashed together within the Marvel fiction to encompass and occupy just one universe?  Or is this just another “Identity Disc” that Marvel cooked up to keep up with the Joneses?

With Hickman’s track record of storytelling and precision, I would venture to say that we are in for an epic yarn filled with thread upon thread and abstract upon abstract.  I for one will be looking for meaning beyond the mere Infinity Gems that readily make their way to the forefront of my predictions.  I will have to stave the temptation to rely on what I think I know about the past 10 years of the 616, because with Hickman…all bets are off.

Pick up Infinity #1 tomorrow at your LCS or be sure to grab the digital code from ComicCodes.com!

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

